Urge Florida House to Pass 24-Hour Reflection Prior to Abortion
BACKGROUND: HB 633 by Rep. Jennifer Sullivan (R-Eustis) provides a woman at least 24 hours to reflect on information about her unborn child and the risks of abortion before proceeding with the termination of her pregnancy. The bill also requires the physician providing the information to be physically present in the room with the patient.
Florida law does not provide a period to reflect prior to making the irreversible decision to terminate a pregnancy, although one is required before: marriage (three days); dissolution of marriage (20 days); purchase of a handgun (three days); and cremation (48 hours).
Presently, 26 states require women to wait a specified period of time, between 18 and 72 hours, after mandated counseling at the abortion facility before obtaining an abortion. These include the surrounding states of Georgia (24 hours) and Alabama (48 hours).
HB 633 is on the calendar for the House on Tuesday, April 21 and could be voted on by the full House as early as Tuesday or Wednesday.
TAKE ACTION: Send a message immediately to your Florida state representative and urge him or her to vote 'YES' on HB 633.
Click the link below to log in and send your message: